← All companies

Wesfarmers Limited

ASX: WESIndustry: RetailAuditor: Ernst & YoungFY2026Group: Group 1
View original report →

GovernanceGovernance

AASB S2 paragraphs 5–7, Aus7.1

Governance body oversight and management's role

Reported

Oversight (p. 58). The Board has ultimate responsibility for oversight of how the Group identifies, manages, monitors and reports on climate-related risks and opportunities (CRROs), assigned through its Charter. It approves the Environment and Climate Policy, internal carbon price, emissions reduction and net zero targets and the Risk Appetite Statement; oversees integration of CRROs into the Corporate Plan, risk management and major investment decisions, including trade-offs; and oversees the adequacy of climate-related disclosure controls. It is informed by management and the Audit and Risk Committee (ARC), which considered climate matters at five meetings in 2026.

Skills (p. 59). The Board reviews its skills, including climate knowledge, annually and received climate training in 2026.

Remuneration (pp. 58–59). The Remuneration Committee considers climate and sustainability performance in executive remuneration. Sustainability objectives had a total weighting of 10% of each executive's scorecard under the Key Executive Equity Performance Plan, with no weighting for individual elements, including climate.

Management (pp. 58–59). Management embeds climate in planning and risk; divisional executives are accountable for climate strategies and data accuracy, overseen by divisional boards. An annual questionnaire completed by divisional executives is a climate-specific control; internal audit reviews climate processes, reporting to the ARC.

StrategyStrategy

AASB S2 paragraphs 10–11

Climate-related risks and opportunities

Reported

Identified CRROs (pp. 62–73). Using scenario analysis and quantitative and qualitative factors, the Group identified four climate-related risks and one opportunity that could reasonably be expected to affect its prospects. Physical risks: extreme heat; extreme precipitation and flooding; storm surge and cyclones. Transition risk: carbon pricing. Opportunity: the Group's 50% interest in the Covalent Lithium joint venture. Time horizons stated in each CRRO table: short-, medium- and long-term, except carbon pricing (medium- and long-term).

Time horizons (p. 60). Short-term is one year (the 2027 financial year); medium-term is two to five years (2030 assessment year), aligned with the five-year Corporate Plan period; long-term is six to 25 years (2050 assessment year), aligned with divisional net zero targets.

Other risks (p. 62). Bushfire and drought, and reputational risk and greenwashing, were also identified but were not assessed as reasonably expected to affect the Group's prospects over the short, medium or long term.

Assessment (pp. 56, 60, 62). CRROs were identified using all reasonable and supportable information available. None of the identified CRROs was assessed as having a material financial effect in the reporting period for the purpose of quantitative disclosure. Risks are reassessed annually; scenario analysis is used at least every three years to identify changes in inherent exposure.

AASB S2 paragraph 13

Business model and value chain

Reported

Where CRROs are concentrated (pp. 60, 79). In energy-intensive managed operations and industrial processes and in assets exposed to chronic and acute weather events, extending upstream and downstream; value chain physical exposure sits in raw materials and logistics nodes in exposed regions.

By risk (pp. 64–73).

  • Extreme heat: retail store and distribution center network and WesCEF's industrial operations; heat already affects some raw-material sourcing across Asia.
  • Flooding: retail stores, distribution centers and logistics infrastructure; suppliers in flood-prone regions of Asia.
  • Storm surge and cyclones: coastal assets and upstream ports and logistics, including the Kwinana port.
  • Carbon pricing: WesCEF's CSBP facility (82.2% of Group Scope 1 emissions); indirect exposure through suppliers in Asia, mainly for Bunnings Group and Kmart Group.
  • Covalent Lithium: within WesCEF, in the battery materials supply chain.

Current effects. No material effects were identified for the four risks in the reporting period. A storm-related partial roof collapse at Target's Richlands distribution center in October 2025 stopped operations, constraining distribution capacity in the Christmas peak, with lost revenue and rerouting costs; not material at Group level (p. 68). Anticipated (pp. 65–73). Heat and flooding exposure continues; storm surge, cyclone and indirect carbon pricing exposure rises over the medium to long term.

AASB S2 paragraph 14

Strategy and decision-making

Reported

Capital allocation (pp. 74–75). An internal carbon price has been applied since 2014 in capital expenditure assessments, mergers and acquisitions analysis and corporate planning: $48.10 per metric tonne of CO2e in 2026, rising to $144.60 (2026, real) by 2050. In July 2026 the Mt Holland expansion was approved (Wesfarmers' share of capital expenditure about $645 million to $715 million, nominal, excluding capitalized interest).

Mitigation and adaptation (pp. 65–78). Each division has emissions reduction and net zero targets and a transition pathway. Group Scope 1 and 2 (market-based): 1,622 ktCO2e (sum of divisional baselines), 802 in 2026 and 700 residual in 2030 (down 57%), via industrial process abatement, grid decarbonization, fuel switching and fleet electrification, and renewable electricity. WesCEF is rolling out tertiary nitrous oxide abatement (about 115,000 tCO2e a year) and replacing a sodium cyanide incinerator. Physical risk measures include business continuity plans, flood and drainage controls, backup generators, supplier diversification and insurance.

Resourcing (p. 75). Climate expenditure is generally within divisional operating budgets and capital programs, not tracked separately.

Dependencies (pp. 78–79). WesCEF's 2050 net zero target depends on low-emissions technologies including CCS, supportive policy and government funding. Scope 3 follows a managed momentum approach with five priority areas.

AASB S2 paragraphs 15–21

Financial position, financial performance and cash flows

Partial
Partial disclosure: No monetary estimate of anticipated financial effects is given for any of the four risks. The report says quantitative information on anticipated effects has not been disclosed for all CRROs because some are not separately identifiable or subject to high measurement uncertainty, and that some of these may be material over the medium to long term (p. 62). Carbon pricing effects beyond the current period are not quantified because they are highly uncertain (p. 71), and the Covalent Lithium medium- and long-term effects are not disclosed although the report says they have the potential to be material (p. 73). For the physical risks the report states only that effects are not expected to be material. The only anticipated amount for Covalent Lithium is the capital expenditure estimate (pp. 73, 75). The report gives these reasons without citing AASB S2 paragraphs 19 to 21.

Approach (pp. 62–63, 65–73). The Group assessed current and anticipated effects of CRROs on its financial position, performance and cash flows, screening at divisional level against a threshold of approximately 5% of Group profit before tax. It has not identified any significant risk of a material adjustment within the next annual reporting period to carrying amounts of assets and liabilities arising from CRROs. Each CRRO table names the income statement, balance sheet and cash flow statement lines that may be affected.

CRROCurrent effect (2026)Anticipated effect
Extreme heat (pp. 64–65)No material effectNot expected to be material over any horizon
Flooding (p. 67)No material effectRises over time; not expected to be material
Storm surge and cyclones (p. 69)No material effectIncreases over time; not expected to be material
Carbon pricing (pp. 70–71)No material effectMedium- and long-term effect not quantified (highly uncertain)
Covalent Lithium (p. 73)Earnings contribution from WesCEF's lithium operations $40 million (prior year loss $59 million)Medium- and long-term effects not disclosed; potential to be material

Combined effects (p. 63). Where combined quantitative information is not given, the Group determined combined effects are not separately identifiable or too uncertain to be useful.

AASB S2 paragraph 22

Climate resilience and scenario analysis

Reported

Scenarios (pp. 60–61). The 2026 analysis uses Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change pathways applied through the Network for Greening the Financial System: SSP1-2.6 (Net Zero 2050, +1.3°C to +2.4°C very likely range by 2100), SSP2-4.5 (Delayed Transition, +2.1°C to +3.5°C) and SSP5-8.5 (Current Policies, +3.3°C to +5.7°C), over three time horizons. SSP5-8.5 replaced SSP3-7.0 in 2026 because it better captures extreme physical hazard outcomes. The Group considers SSP1-2.6 referable to the 1.5°C temperature goal in section 3(a)(i) of the Climate Change Act 2022 (Cth) and Delayed Transition the most plausible short- to medium-term pathway.

Resilience (p. 74). The diversified portfolio and value chain is expected to remain resilient across the three scenarios and over all horizons. Under Current Policies, long-term physical risk rises materially; beyond 2030, abrupt policy responses and escalating physical effects may require accelerated adaptation investment and potential changes to asset configuration, supply chain and product mix.

Uncertainty and capacity (p. 74). Uncertainties, which increase materially beyond 2030, include local acute hazards, policy responses, carbon pricing and CCS viability. Financial flexibility comes from an investment-grade credit rating, diversified earnings and balance sheet capacity; retail formats have short refurbishment cycles and WesCEF's long-lived assets are addressed through staged abatement investment.

Risk ManagementRisk Management

AASB S2 paragraphs 24–26, Aus26.1

Processes for identifying, assessing and managing climate-related risks

Reported

Framework (p. 80). Risk management is embedded through the Wesfarmers enterprise risk management framework. Climate-related risks are identified, assessed and prioritized using the same taxonomy, likelihood scales and consequence ratings as all other Group risks.

Inputs and assessment (pp. 60, 80). Scenario analysis is an input to identifying and prioritizing CRROs. Physical risk assessment uses asset-level hazard data and scenario outputs over short-, medium- and long-term horizons; transition risk assessment uses policy, technology, market and reputational factors. Key risk indicators are monitored. Risks are assessed on an inherent and residual basis and aggregated at Group level. CRROs are prioritized when combined likelihood and consequence ratings exceed 'High' on an inherent basis; residual risks above risk appetite are escalated through divisional governance and the ARC.

Opportunities (p. 80). Identified through annual corporate planning, the investment evaluation framework (internal carbon price and sensitivity testing) and scenario analysis, and assessed against expected return, strategic alignment and risk profile.

Changes in 2026 (p. 80). Insurance-based catastrophe and climate risk modeling (including annual expected loss data) was formalized within the enterprise risk management consequence assessment methodology, and the ThinkHazard! classification system was introduced for divisions without prior likelihood values.

Metrics & TargetsMetrics and Targets

AASB S2 paragraphs 29–31

Climate-related metrics

Partial
Partial disclosure: The Group applies the C4(b) Scope 3 relief and discloses Scope 3 voluntarily; the report says the inventory is not prepared in alignment or compliance with AASB S2 (pp. 56, 90), and only four categories are shown, as percentages. The report says Scope 1 and 2 emissions are disaggregated between the consolidated accounting group and other investees but prints no separate investee figures; the Group's share of Covalent Lithium Scope 1 and 2 emissions is reported within Scope 3 Category 15 with no amount (pp. 73, 81). No amount or percentage of assets or business activities is given as vulnerable to transition risk (29(b)), beyond CSBP Kwinana's 82.2% of Group Scope 1 emissions (p. 70), or as aligned with opportunities (29(d)). No total amount of capital deployed toward climate-related risks and opportunities is given (29(e)); climate expenditure is generally not tracked separately, and about $2 billion of sustainability-linked bond finance is general purpose, not directed to specific climate-related activities (p. 75). The percentage of executive remuneration linked to climate (29(g)(ii)) is not stated: sustainability objectives are weighted 10% of the executive scorecard with no separate weighting for climate (p. 59).

Scope 1 and Scope 2 emissions, 2026 (p. 82), ktCO2e

AASB S2 (market-based)AASB S2 (location-based)NGER boundary
Scope 1757757753
Scope 245438422
Total8021,1951,175

About 98.3% of Scope 1 and 2 emissions were measured under the National Greenhouse and Energy Reporting (NGER) methodology, which the report says AASB S2 permits as a jurisdiction-specific relief (p. 82). Operational control approach; market-based Scope 2 reflects power purchase agreements, GreenPower contracts and renewable energy certificates (p. 81). Scope 1 and 2 (market-based) fell 21.9% on the prior year (p. 57).

Scope 3 (voluntary, pp. 82–83). 32,385 ktCO2e across all 15 categories: purchased goods and services (Category 1) 55%, use of sold products (Category 11) 36%, upstream transportation and distribution (Category 4) 3%, end of life treatment of sold products (Category 12) 2%. The report says the inventory is not prepared in alignment or compliance with AASB S2 (p. 90).

Other metrics. Sites exposed under Delayed Transition: heat about 200 (11%) rising to about 435 (24%) in the long term (p. 65); flooding about 375 (21%) falling to about 120 (6%) by 2050 (p. 67). Storm surge: up to about 5% of relevant logistics and transport infrastructure, about 40% by 2050 (p. 69). Internal carbon price $48.10 per metric tonne of CO2e (p. 75). Earnings contribution from WesCEF lithium operations $40 million (p. 73).

AASB S2 paragraphs 33–36, Aus37.1

Climate-related targets

Partial
Partial disclosure: The divisional targets are net targets, not gross targets, and no associated gross target is stated (paragraph 36(c)); p. 81 says they are expressed as net targets rather than gross targets. The report does not state which greenhouse gases the divisional targets cover (36(a)). On carbon credits, offsets may be required for residual emissions but the Group does not currently expect to use them for interim targets and says the extent needed for long-term ambition has not been determined (p. 81); the ACCU scheme is named as a source, but the report does not say whether credits would be nature-based or technological removals (36(e)(iii)). The targets are divisional: the report describes a Group net zero ambition (p. 83) and a 2030 Group pathway (p. 75) but states no Group-wide target.

Divisional targets (pp. 81, 84–87), Scope 1 and 2 (market-based) unless stated

DivisionTargetsProgress
Bunnings Group10% below 2018 by 2025; 100% renewable electricity; net zero by 2030First two achieved; 94.3% below 2018
Kmart Group20% below 2018 by 2025; 100% renewable electricity; net zero by 2030First two achieved; 98.0% below 2018
WesCEF30% below 2020 by 2030; intensity under 0.25 tCO2e per tonne ammonium nitrate (24 months to 31 December 2025); net zero (location-based) by 2050Intensity achieved (0.12); 18.6% (location-based), 19.7% (market-based) below 2020
Industrial and Safety45% below 2018 by 2025; net zero by 2035Interim achieved; 53.9% below 2018; from 2027 aligns to Bunnings Group's 2030 net zero target
Officeworks20% below 2018 by 2025; 100% renewable electricity; net zero by 2030First two achieved; 99.7% below 2018
Wesfarmers Health100% renewable electricity at all new fulfillment centers as they come online (expected by 2031); net zero by 203554.3% below 2023

Targets are informed by the Paris Agreement goal of well below 2°C, were not derived using a sectoral decarbonization approach and have not been assessed or validated by a third party (p. 83). They are net targets; offsets are not currently expected for interim targets (p. 81). Regulatory target: the Safeguard Mechanism baseline for WesCEF's CSBP Kwinana facility declines 4.9% a year to 2030 (p. 85).