← All companies

JB Hi-Fi Limited

ASX: JBHIndustry: RetailAuditor: Deloitte Touche TohmatsuFY2026Group: Group 1
View original report →

GovernanceGovernance

AASB S2 paragraphs 5–7, Aus7.1

Governance body oversight and management's role

Reported

Oversight (p. 54). Under the Board Charter the Board has ultimate responsibility for oversight of the sustainability strategy, including its approach to climate-related risks and opportunities (CRROs) and the actions toward the 2030 net-zero direct scope 1 and scope 2 (market-based) emissions target. The Audit and Risk Management Committee (ARMC) assesses the Group's sustainability programs, plans and management systems, including actions on CRROs and the target. The Board receives formal CRRO reporting twice a year; the ARMC met six times in FY2026 and at two meetings received the CRRO register and updates on AASB S2 and the target. No material trade-offs with CRROs currently impact strategy or future prospects.

Skills and pay (p. 55). The Board determines whether appropriate skills to oversee climate-related matters are available through its Board Composition & Succession Policy, and received AASB S2 technical updates during the year. Executive incentives are 75% financial and 25% strategic non-financial scorecard measures; one covers sustainability initiatives, including the net-zero target (pp. 37–40).

Management (pp. 55–56). The Group CEO has ultimate responsibility for strategy, including climate resilience. The Group CFO integrates CRROs into strategic planning and risk management and chairs the Net-Zero Steering Committee, which meets quarterly and reports to the ARMC bi-annually. A Group sustainability team of six supports the executive teams.

StrategyStrategy

AASB S2 paragraphs 10–11

Climate-related risks and opportunities

Reported

CRROs (p. 58). The Group identified 5 CRROs relevant to demonstrate the impacts of climate change on its business model and future prospects, each with a summary table (pp. 60–66): (1) severe weather impacts the Group's operations (acute physical); (2) severe weather impacts the Group's supply chain (acute physical); (3) increased carbon regulation (transition, regulatory); (4) increased demand for goods and services resulting from severe weather (market opportunity); (5) increased demand for energy efficient products (market opportunity). The Group does not expect any CRRO to have a material impact on its financial position, financial performance or cash flow over the short, medium or long term, but has determined them to be qualitatively material. They are reviewed at least annually.

Time horizons (pp. 52, 60–66). Short term is 0–2 years (typical timeframe for financial budgeting and forecasting), medium term 2–10 years (strategic decisions on store network and supply chain planning) and long term 10–20 years (lifecycle of a typical store or warehouse location), consistent with the Group's planning horizons. CRROs 1, 2, 4 and 5 exist under each horizon and CRRO 3 is expected over the medium to long term.

AASB S2 paragraph 13

Business model and value chain

Reported

Business model (p. 58). The Group has three brands (JB Hi-Fi, The Good Guys and e&s) selling consumer electronics, telecommunications, home appliances and software. Its competitive advantages are scale and diversification across a large supplier base and geographically diverse store network, a low-cost operating model, multichannel capability, and people and culture. Structure and value chain: pp. 17–18.

Operations (pp. 60–61). Severe weather may disrupt or damage stores, warehouses and last-mile delivery. In FY2026 less than 0.02% of total trading hours were disrupted. The Group does not expect impacts to be pervasive, given diversification across all states of Australia and New Zealand. 38 locations (5.4% of total assets) are predisposed to higher risk, concentrated on the eastern seaboard (flood-prone coastal Queensland and New South Wales) and the cyclone-exposed far north.

Value chain (pp. 61–64). Goods for resale are sourced from over 35 countries, with trade supply approximately 42% China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, 25% Southeast Asia and 17% Europe. Typhoons in China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Southeast Asia could disrupt manufacturing, logistics and shipping. The Group buys inventory in-country, so suppliers bear the risks and costs of bringing it into Australia and New Zealand (p. 62). Carbon regulation may raise suppliers' operating costs and so the cost of goods (p. 63). Severe weather can raise demand for home appliances and technology products (p. 64).

AASB S2 paragraph 14

Strategy and decision-making

Reported

Decarbonization plan (pp. 70–72). The Group has established a plan to decarbonize its operations and is working toward net-zero direct scope 1 and scope 2 (market-based) emissions by 2030 through renewable energy procurement, on-site solar power generation, store and warehouse energy efficiency, reducing energy consumption where possible and fleet rationalization. Stated assumption: continued optionality to procure renewable energy through contracts with its energy providers (p. 72). In FY2026 68% of energy needs came from renewables (82% in June 2026) and solar sites rose to 42 (FY2025: 36) (p. 72).

Mitigation measures (pp. 61–63). Physical risk (CRRO 1): geographic diversification, omni-channel sales and fulfillment, flood risk assessments in store network planning, a short Weighted Average Lease Expiry (WALE) of less than 3 years, water deluge kits across all HDC sites, insurance and business continuity plans. Transition risk (CRRO 3): the Ethical Sourcing Policy requires suppliers to measure, monitor and reduce emissions; 321 suppliers were asked to complete the Ethical Sourcing Questionnaire and 254 responded.

Resourcing (p. 69). Resources are allocated through annual budgeting processes overseen by the Group CFO. Other funding and resource allocation is not separately identifiable or already in budgeted operating expenditures; as at 30 June 2026 no financially material capital or operational expenditure is planned to address CRROs.

AASB S2 paragraphs 15–21

Financial position, financial performance and cash flows

Partial
Partial disclosure: Financial effects are qualitative only: no current or anticipated effect is quantified for any of the five CRROs. The reasons given are measurement uncertainty (CRROs 2 and 3), not separately identifiable (CRRO 5) and commercial sensitivity (CRRO 4). The report cites no AASB S2 paragraph 19 to 21 relief and prints no AASB S2 paragraph number in its own sections (pp. 52 to 76). Not found: quantitative information on the combined financial effects of the CRROs (paragraph 21(c)), and any statement on whether a significant risk of a material adjustment to carrying amounts in the next reporting period exists (paragraph 16(b)).

Overall (p. 58). The Group does not expect any CRRO to have a material impact on its financial position, financial performance or cash flow over the short, medium or long term. Each CRRO table names the financial statement lines affected, such as sales revenue, other expenses, cost of sales, receipts from customers and payments to suppliers (pp. 60–66).

CRROFY2026 financial impactsAnticipated financial impacts
1 Severe weather, operationsNo material impactsNot expected to be material in any given year
2 Severe weather, supply chainNo material impactsNot yet quantified due to measurement uncertainty
3 Increased carbon regulationNo material impactsNo estimates, given high measurement uncertainty
4 Demand from severe weatherNot disclosed, commercial sensitivityNot disclosed, commercial sensitivity
5 Energy efficient productsNot separately identifiableNot separately identifiable

In FY2026 less than 0.02% of total trading hours were disrupted by severe weather; the impacts were not material and, where applicable, losses were covered by insurance (p. 61). No financially material capital or operational expenditure is planned to address CRROs (p. 69).

AASB S2 paragraph 22

Climate resilience and scenario analysis

Reported

Scenarios (pp. 58–59). The approach was informed by the National Climate Scenario Guidance 2026 issued by the Department of Climate Change, Energy, Environment and Water (DCCEEW). Physical risk uses Shared Socioeconomic Pathways (SSPs) published by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and transition risk uses Network for Greening the Financial System (NGFS) scenarios.

Scenario 1 (Low Warming)Scenario 2 (Middle-of-the-road)Scenario 3 (High Warming)
SSPSSP1-2.6SSP2-4.5SSP3-7.0
Global temperatures increase between1.3-2.4 degrees2.1-3.5 degrees2.8-4.6 degrees
NGFS2050 Net zeroDelayed transitionCurrent policies

Assessment as at 30 June 2026 (pp. 60–68). Anticipated impacts use the middle-of-the-road scenarios, judged most aligned to current market dynamics, regulatory settings and the latest assessment from the United Nations Environment Programme. Resilience is assessed under the high warming scenario (SSP3-7.0) for CRROs 1, 2 and 4 and the low warming NGFS 2050 Net zero scenario for CRROs 3 and 5. Each CRRO has significant areas of uncertainty, implications for the business model and how the Group would adapt. For CRROs 1 to 3 the Group believes appropriate mitigations are in place to support the resilience of its business model.

Risk ManagementRisk Management

AASB S2 paragraphs 24–26, Aus26.1

Processes for identifying, assessing and managing climate-related risks

Reported

Framework (p. 57). The Risk Management Policy and Risk Management Framework, consistent with AS ISO 31000:2018 and regulatory guidance issued by the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) and the ASX, set the methodologies for identifying, monitoring, assessing, managing and reporting risks. The Group applies the Framework when identifying and managing CRROs.

Identification (p. 57). A third-party independent environmental and sustainability advisor facilitated an inaugural CRRO assessment workshop with all members of the Group and brand executive teams to develop an initial list of the most significant CRROs and apply climate scenario analysis to each across operations and value chain. CRROs are identified by considering (1) physical climate hazards and their impact on operations and supply chain, (2) current and emerging climate regulations, (3) stakeholder feedback from suppliers, investors and industry experts, (4) latest industry trends and developments and (5) competitor and retail peer analysis.

Assessment and monitoring (p. 57). A CRRO register assigns each risk and opportunity to a Group or brand executive; likelihood of occurrence and potential impact are considered within the Framework's parameters. The Group sustainability team assists executives to formally review the register every 6 months, and the review is integrated into the Group's comprehensive review of its overall business risks.

Metrics & TargetsMetrics and Targets

AASB S2 paragraphs 29–31

Climate-related metrics

Partial
Partial disclosure: Scope 3 emissions are not disclosed: the report says it applied the transitional relief for Scope 3 emissions and comparative figures (p. 53). It prints no paragraph number; the reliefs correspond to C4(b) for Scope 3 and C3 for comparatives. Scope 1 and 2 are not split between the consolidated accounting group and other investees (paragraph 29(a)(iv)). No amount or percentage is given for assets or business activities vulnerable to transition risks (29(b)), and the opportunity figures are withheld as commercially sensitive (29(d)). Capital deployment (29(e)) is a statement that no financially material expenditure is planned, not an amount. The percentage of executive remuneration linked to climate (29(g)(ii)) is not stated in the Sustainability Report, which points to pp. 37–40 for the variable reward plan.

Scope 1 and 2 emissions, FY2026 (p. 71), t-CO2-e

FY2026Base Year (FY2020)Change (t-CO2-e)Change (%)
Scope 1834281553197%
Scope 2 (Location-based)60,34266,570(6,228)(9%)
Scope 2 (Market-based)26,70263,354(36,652)(58%)

Base year emissions are unaudited. Australian operations (about 99% of FY2026 scope 1 and 2 emissions) use National Greenhouse and Energy Reporting (NGER) Scheme methods and New Zealand operations (about 1%) use GHG Protocol methods, with an operational control boundary; 8% of electricity consumption was estimated (pp. 70–71). Market-based scope 2, reported voluntarily (pp. 75–76), recognizes Large-scale Generation Certificates (LGCs) and New Zealand Energy Certificates (NZECs) procured through contractual agreements with energy providers (p. 70). The Group applied the transitional relief for Scope 3 emissions and comparative figures (p. 53).

Other categories. Physical risk: 38 locations, 5.4% of total assets (p. 61). Opportunity amounts and percentages are withheld as commercially sensitive (pp. 64, 66). Capital deployment: no financially material expenditure planned (p. 69). Internal carbon pricing: not used (p. 69). Remuneration: one measure in the 25% non-financial part of the executive scorecard covers sustainability initiatives (p. 55).

AASB S2 paragraphs 33–36, Aus37.1

Climate-related targets

Partial
Partial disclosure: The target is a net target and no separate gross target is stated alongside it (paragraph 36(c)); the report gives only an estimate of residual emissions to be offset, at less than 2% of combined scope 1 and 2 emissions. On carbon credits it says the Group will 'likely' use ACCUs and that the category (nature based or technological carbon removals) will be determined closer to the time. It names no third-party scheme that will verify or certify them (paragraph 36(e)(ii) and (iii)).

Target (pp. 72–73): net-zero direct scope 1 and scope 2 (market-based) emissions by 2030

ItemDisclosure
MetricTonnes CO2-e (CO2, CH4 and N2O)
ScopeAll locations and facilities within the Group's operational control
Period; base period2025-2030; FY2020
MilestonesNo additional interim milestones or targets
TypeAbsolute quantitative; net target
Sectoral decarbonization approachNot applicable
Paris AgreementTarget informed by it (well below 2°C, efforts to limit to 1.5°C)
ValidationTarget and methodology established and verified with an external environmental advisor; alignment to science-based targets initiative (SBTi) requirements not separately validated by the SBTi
ReviewNet-Zero Steering Committee quarterly, with ARMC oversight; no revisions in FY2026

Carbon credits (pp. 70, 72). Residual emissions, estimated at less than 2% of combined scope 1 and 2 emissions, are to be offset as a last resort, likely with Australian Carbon Credit Units (ACCUs); the category (nature based or technological carbon removals) will be determined closer to the time.

Performance (p. 71). Against FY2020, scope 1 is 834 t-CO2-e (up 197%, largely from the e&s acquisition in FY2025) and market-based scope 2 is 26,702 t-CO2-e (down 58%, from increased renewable electricity procurement and on-site solar).