← All companies

Coles Group Limited

ASX: COLIndustry: Food & Grocery RetailAuditor: Ernst & YoungFY2026Group: Group 1
View original report →

GovernanceGovernance

AASB S2 paragraphs 5–7, Aus7.1

Governance body oversight and management's role

Reported

Board oversight (pp. 58–59)

The Board has ultimate responsibility for oversight of climate-related risks and opportunities (CRROs). The Audit and Risk Committee oversees management's procedures for identifying CRROs, reviews their assessment and controls, and recommends them to the Board. The Board and the Committee receive quarterly management reporting on the Group Risk Profile, which includes climate change as a material risk. In FY26 the Board approved the Climate Transition Plan and the Sustainability Report, monitored performance against external climate-related targets, and received presentations on CRROs on three occasions. The Board Skills Matrix has a 'Sustainability and Environment' item; directors had briefings on climate transition, scenario analysis and transition planning. With no material acquisitions or divestments in FY26, the Board was not required to consider climate-related trade-offs on major transactions.

Management's role (pp. 59–60)

The MD & CEO and the Executive Leadership Team (ELT) drive climate strategy. The Chief Commercial and Sustainability Officer (CCSO) oversees climate reporting and strategy and gives quarterly updates. The Executive Sustainability Committee, Sustainability Steering Committee and ASRS Steering Committee support oversight. The ELT endorses climate-related external targets and the Board approves them. The sustainability measure in the MD & CEO's FY26 short-term incentive has a 10% target weighting (p. 60).

StrategyStrategy

AASB S2 paragraphs 10–11

Climate-related risks and opportunities

Reported

The Group runs an annual climate-related risk and opportunity (CRRO) assessment within its risk management process (p. 42). It identified six risks and one opportunity that could reasonably be expected to affect its prospects over the short, medium and long term (pp. 42, 45). Not all met the quantitative materiality threshold but were disclosed where they could reasonably be expected to influence primary users' decisions (p. 42).

Transition risks (Table 1)

  • Energy system volatility, rising prices and supply disruptions (p. 46)
  • Changing policy, regulatory and legal requirements to decarbonize and manage climate risk, described as the introduction of a mandatory carbon price (p. 47)
  • Dependency on third-party suppliers and logistics partners to reduce emissions and adopt low-carbon practices (p. 48)
  • Delayed adoption of low-emissions technology, including conversion of refrigeration and HVAC assets (p. 49)

Physical risks

  • Growth and/or production of agricultural raw materials affected by extreme weather and climate conditions (p. 50)
  • Resilience of store and supply chain operations, including manufacturing (p. 51)

Opportunity (Table 2): offering more sustainable products to meet changing customer preferences (p. 52).

Time horizons (p. 45): short term 0–4 years (FY30), medium term 4–10 years (FY36), long term 10–24 years (2050). Each is marked against them: all span short, medium and long term except the carbon price risk (medium and long).

AASB S2 paragraph 13

Business model and value chain

Reported

Business model and value chain (p. 41). Coles has a supermarket and liquor store footprint and digital platforms; revenue comes primarily from sales of fresh food, groceries, general merchandise and liquor, and other services. Products come from domestic and international suppliers via centralized distribution centers; manufacturing supports supply in meat, dairy and convenience. This supply model reflects exposure to value chain emissions and climate-related risks, particularly in upstream sourcing. Scope: Supermarkets, Liquor, QuiteLike, Coles 360, Coles Financial Services and joint ventures (Flybuys, QVC).

Where effects are concentrated

  • More than 90% of value chain emissions are indirect (Scope 3), so the Group relies on suppliers (p. 48).
  • Carbon price sensitivity modeling (low-warming scenario) indicates the greatest exposure is across the upstream supply chain, particularly emissions-intensive suppliers contributing to Scope 3 FLAG emissions (p. 54).
  • Supermarkets account for about 85% of total energy costs (p. 46).
  • Automated Distribution Centres (ADCs) and Customer Fulfilment Centres (CFCs) carry greater concentration risk if one facility is affected (p. 51).

Effects on the business model. Transition risks already influence operations through decarbonization activities and targets (p. 54). No changes to the business model are anticipated (p. 53); how capital planning, sourcing and asset design could shift under each scenario is on pp. 54–55.

AASB S2 paragraph 14

Strategy and decision-making

Reported

Transition plan (p. 56). The Group's first Climate Transition Plan (CTP), released in August 2026, covers risks and opportunities, emissions reduction and resilience in its own operations, decarbonization and resilience across the value chain, internal and external mobilization, and nature and circularity. Key assumptions: more control over emissions reduction in its own operations than in the value chain; emissions projections based on internal growth forecasts; acquisitions and divestments may require re-baselining of targets. Dependencies and limitations: capital allocation beyond the corporate planning horizon is uncertain; delivery depends on regulation, technology, supplier engagement, consumer behavior, government policy, energy market reforms and enabling infrastructure; business growth may increase absolute emissions.

Responses and resourcing (pp. 46–56). 100% renewable electricity (onsite solar and large-scale generation certificates), an Origin Energy alliance deploying rooftop solar and Battery Energy Storage Systems (BESS) without Group capital, energy efficiency projects, refrigerant transition, a supplier engagement target and a FLAG target (pp. 46, 54). A decarbonization plan with funded programs toward near-term Scope 1 and 2 targets has annual capital and expenditure projections embedded in corporate plans and budgets; the refrigeration ambition is a move to lower-GWP or natural refrigerants by the end of 2050 (p. 56).

AASB S2 paragraphs 15–21

Financial position, financial performance and cash flows

Partial
Partial disclosure: Anticipated effects are quantified only for refrigeration capital expenditure. For energy costs, carbon price, agricultural supply and operational disruption the report states no material effect without figures. For supplier dependency, the opportunity and long-term energy costs it cites measurement uncertainty and says quantitative information would not be useful. No paragraph number is cited for this approach, and no quantitative information on combined effects across risks (paragraph 21(c)) is given.

Current effects (p. 45). The CRROs had no material impact on financial position, financial performance or cash flows in the period. Approximately $112 million of separately identified capital expenditure was deployed on managing climate-related risks. No significant risk of material adjustment to carrying amounts of assets or liabilities is expected in the next 12 months.

Anticipated effects (Tables 1 and 2, pp. 46–52). Each item is set out under current period, FY27, short- to medium-term, long-term, and mitigation and adaptation financial effects.

  • Refrigeration (p. 49): capital expenditure of $109 million in FY26, approximately $111 million in FY27, approximately $115 million per annum in the short term, $131 million per annum in the medium term and approximately $163 million per annum over the long term, within existing capital planning.
  • Energy costs, carbon price, agricultural supply and store and supply chain disruption (pp. 46, 47, 50, 51): no material impact in FY26 or anticipated in FY27, and none expected in the short to medium term. No material long-term effect is expected for the other three; long-term energy cost effects are described as too uncertain for quantitative information to be useful.
  • Supplier dependency (p. 48) and the sustainable products opportunity (p. 52): significant measurement uncertainty, so quantitative information is not disclosed. Affected line items are named, such as cost of sales and administration expenses (p. 46).
AASB S2 paragraph 22

Climate resilience and scenario analysis

Reported

Resilience assessment (p. 53). The Group concludes its strategy and business model are expected to remain broadly resilient under both the low- and high-warming scenarios, based on the scope, assumptions and limitations of the assessment, and it anticipates no change to its business model. Areas of uncertainty: timing of climate legislation, including a carbon price and the refrigerant phase-out pathway; pace and cost of grid decarbonization; availability and cost of lower-emissions technologies; and suppliers' ability to transition. Funding and capital allocation processes are intended to provide flexibility. Carbon price sensitivity modeling under the low-warming scenario indicates impacts could be material, mostly in the upstream supply chain (p. 54). Responses: Tables 3 and 4 (pp. 54–55).

How the analysis was done (pp. 43–45). Scope: the Group's operations and, where relevant, parts of the value chain where CRROs are concentrated (p. 43). Three scenarios (temperature increase by 2100): 'Sustainability – Paris aligned' (SSP1-1.9, 1.5°C), 'Middle of the road' (SSP2-4.5, 2.7°C) and 'Fossil-fuelled development' (SSP5-8.5, 4.4°C). The first and third are the primary stress-test scenarios (used in FY24 and FY25, refined in FY26); the middle scenario was used for anticipated financial effects. Time horizons: 0–4 years (FY30), 4–10 years (FY36) and 10–24 years (2050). Climate data was modeled by ClimSystems using CSIRO and Bureau of Meteorology projections (p. 44).

Risk ManagementRisk Management

AASB S2 paragraphs 24–26, Aus26.1

Processes for identifying, assessing and managing climate-related risks

Reported

The Group conducts an annual CRRO assessment as part of its broader risk management process (pp. 42, 57). The process is iterative: (1) an initial list of CRROs compiled from external research, industry reports and prior year assessments; (2) validation through workshops with internal subject matter experts and senior leaders, with likelihood and consequence assessed qualitatively over the short, medium and long term using the Coles Risk Standard criteria; (3) identification of existing and potential mitigations; and (4) prioritization of risks by risk rating and time horizon, and of opportunities by qualitative factors (p. 42). Scenario analysis is then applied to prioritized CRROs and, where possible, effects are quantified. Risks were assessed on a gross basis, before mitigation, to select those for disclosure, and assessed for quantitative materiality consistent with the financial statements (p. 42).

Physical and transition risks are assessed using the same Risk Standard process and criteria as other risks, with executive ownership assigned to each. Climate change is identified as a material risk; the risk and its key risk indicators are reviewed annually, monitored against risk appetite and reported to the Audit and Risk Committee, and Internal Audit periodically reviews climate risk and controls (p. 57). The report refers to its Risk management section (pp. 30 to 37) for further detail (p. 57).

Metrics & TargetsMetrics and Targets

AASB S2 paragraphs 29–31

Climate-related metrics

Partial
Partial disclosure: No amount or percentage of assets or business activities aligned with climate-related opportunities is given (29(d)); the report says the Group cannot reliably determine the share of sales from lower-carbon products. The transition-risk metric is the share of supermarkets already using natural refrigerants, not assets vulnerable to transition risks (29(b)). Remuneration is limited to a 10% target weighting for the MD & CEO's short-term incentive sustainability measure, with the outcome referred to the Remuneration Report (pp. 103 to 105); the percentage of executive remuneration recognized in the period that is linked to climate (29(g)(ii)) is not stated. Table 5 shows no prior-period figures, under the comparatives transition relief stated on p. 40.

Greenhouse gas emissions (Table 5, p. 61). Operational control approach; GHG Protocol Corporate Standard (2004); Scope 1 and 2 use NGER methods (pp. 61, 69).

Year ended 30 June 2026tCO2-e
Scope 1256,203
Scope 2 (location-based)1,008,242
Scope 2 (market-based)0
Scope 3 categoryMtCO2-e
1 Purchased goods and services15.93
2 Capital goods0.13
3 Fuel- and energy-related activities0.01
4 Upstream transportation and distribution0.73
5 Waste generated in operations0.08
6 Business travel0.00
7 Employee commuting0.07
8 Upstream leased assets0.10
11 Direct use of sold products0.49
12 End-of-life treatment of sold products1.44
15 Investments0.00
Total18.98

Other metrics (p. 62). High hazard exposure (elevated flood risk): supermarkets 5% (40), liquor stores 5% (47), large facilities 0% (0). Supermarkets with natural refrigerants in use: 16% (141). Capital deployed: $112 million. Shadow carbon price on Scope 1 and 2 in capital projects, per tonne: $56 (FY26–FY28), $78 (FY29–FY32), $100 (FY33–FY35), $140 (FY36–FY40), $170 (FY41 onwards). Remuneration: 10% target weighting for the sustainability measure in the MD & CEO's FY26 short-term incentive (p. 60).

AASB S2 paragraphs 33–36, Aus37.1

Climate-related targets

Reported

Three climate-related targets, each set out with metric, objective, scope, period, baseline, milestones, absolute or intensity basis, alignment with the Paris Agreement, approach to setting and reviewing, validation, revisions and progress.

TargetBasisProgress in FY26
Net zero Scope 1 and 2 by 2050 (Table 6, pp. 63–65)FY20 baseline; net target with an associated gross target of at least 90% reduction; interim FY30 target of more than 75% reduction82.6% reduction in market-based Scope 1 and 2 versus FY20; 16.9% location-based (p. 65)
30.3% reduction in Scope 3 FLAG emissions by end of FY30 (Table 7, pp. 65–67)FY24 baseline 9.89 Mt CO2-e; boundary 6.63 Mt CO2-e (67%); absolute, grossIn-boundary FLAG emissions 1.8% higher than FY25; reductions not yet evident (p. 67)
80% of suppliers by spend with science-based targets by end of FY29 (Table 8, pp. 67–68)Supplier engagement target; originally 75% by end of FY27About 46.9% (Scope 1 and 2) and 41.1% (Scope 1, 2 and 3); not on track (p. 68)

Validation (pp. 65–68): the FY30 Scope 1 and 2 target is validated by SBTi as aligned with a 1.5°C pathway; the 2050 net zero target is not separately validated; the FLAG and supplier engagement targets are validated by SBTi. Carbon credits (p. 64): none planned for the FY30 target; for 2050 they may neutralize residual emissions, with nature, quality and volume not yet determined.